R.E.A.L.. Reborning Expressions & Artful Learning Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This forum, R.E.A.L. - Reborning Expressions and Artful Learning is designed for reborned artists to get together, take classes, learn from each other and chat about reborning!!!

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Need help with reborn please

Go down 
+2
threads
Winx
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Winx

Need help with reborn please Empty
PostSubject: Need help with reborn please   Need help with reborn please EmptySat 7 Jan 2017 - 0:09

First up, I'm not an reborn artist, I have done some basic repair and restore jobs on dolls but nothing big or very complicated. I have now get a problem with my reborn that I don't really know how to fix or the right way of going about it so I thought I'd better seek a bit of expert advice.

I bought a reborn a couple of years ago, she's a full body soft vinyl weighted with silicone pellets to feel squishy which was great and I was perfectly happy with her. Fast forward to a couple of nights ago and I picked her up and her limbs which were really soft and squashy were rock hard, like rigor mortis had set in!! I felt sure she used to be much cuddlier to hold and tried to ply the vinyl a bit to see if it would soften, which it did a tiny bit so I left it thinking it'd soften back up now on its own. Yesterday evening I suddenly remembered that silicone reacts with most things, that's why it's difficult to work with, and started wondering if this was the problem so I removed the limbs with some difficulty, took out the wadding and saw that the silicone pellets, instead of moving freely were clumped together, sticky, sort of disinintegrating and the inside of the limbs were moist too.