R.E.A.L.. Reborning Expressions & Artful Learning Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This forum, R.E.A.L. - Reborning Expressions and Artful Learning is designed for reborned artists to get together, take classes, learn from each other and chat about reborning!!!

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Hey from Oklahoma!

Go down 
+4
Karen
Groovyday
Trish
beckysmalley
8 posters
AuthorMessage
beckysmalley

Hey from Oklahoma! Empty
PostSubject: Hey from Oklahoma!   Hey from Oklahoma! EmptyTue 6 Mar 2012 - 0:18

My name is Becky, and I'm really new at Reborning. In fact, I haven't even finished my first one yet!

Actually, I don't think I could even be called a Reborn artist as I don't plan on painting and putting a kit together. I'm a sculptor and I don't think that I'll ever sell completed dolls. I'm not great at painting, but we shall see once I finish my first doll.

I have three planned. One for each of my children. I started about a year ago while I was pregnant with my third child because my middle one was less than a year and a half old, and I thought that if I had something that LOOKED real, and treated it like it was real, she wouldn't have as much trouble adjusting when the real baby came along. I couldn't find any baby dolls that fit what I was looking for at stores like Walmart or Target, and when I went on line, I saw these Reborn dolls that cost $300+! I thought "well, I could do that" since I've been working with Sculpey for about 13 years already. Haha! Little did I know...

Well, my baby was born and my daughter had no trouble loving and accepting him, no issues of jealousy at all (I mean, really. She's NEVER been jealous of him!), and so there was no need for me to worry. But I still want to take this on as a hobby, and maybe a profession.