R.E.A.L.. Reborning Expressions & Artful Learning Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This forum, R.E.A.L. - Reborning Expressions and Artful Learning is designed for reborned artists to get together, take classes, learn from each other and chat about reborning!!!

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

I am a Relatively New Reborn Artist

Go down 
+4
Trish
Michelle73
Karen
SharonLeeBee
8 posters
AuthorMessage
SharonLeeBee
Newborn Baby
Newborn Baby

I am a Relatively New Reborn Artist Empty
PostSubject: I am a Relatively New Reborn Artist   I am a Relatively New Reborn Artist EmptyMon 28 Jan 2013 - 20:56

Hi! I joined this site at someone's recommendation to get tips and provide my tips!

Anyone have tips on removing shine from a doll other than using Genesis Heat Set Matte Varnish or Secrist Superior Shine Remover? I have not had luck with either of these products, no matter how I apply it!

Is there another product I should know about that is easier to use and thinner in consistency, that dries completely matte?

My reborns get better with each new kit (I've done about 22 so far) but sometimes the fingers and big toe gets shiny from the oven.

Also, what color blue do you use for veins? Genesis Vein Blue seems to come out "blackish" and I end up having to add a lot of white to it.

SharonLeeBee
Back to top Go down
Karen
Advanced Walker
Advanced Walker
Karen

PostSubject: Re: I am a Relatively New Reborn Artist   I am a Relatively New Reborn Artist EmptyMon 28 Jan 2013 - 23:56

Hi Sharon, welcome to the forum.

You can try using Plaid Tile and Glass medium. Its an air dry matte medium and quite a few people have had great results with it. If parts of your kit is getting shiny from the oven, the temperature is too high or you are baking too long.